Medical Certification Examinations Provide...
  Credibility   Enhanced Placement Statistics   Portability
  Career Advancement   Increased Enrollment   Improved Marketability

General Information
American Medical Certification Association (AMCA) is headquartered in Fairfield, New Jersey. The AMCA was established in 2010 with a vision of enhancing the allied healthcare industry by providing national certification exams that validate the knowledge and expertise of professionals in this field.  The AMCA collaborates and actively participates in the allied healthcare industry to serves as a support network for allied healthcare professionals. The AMCA has maintained membership in various organizations to strengthen its ties to the industry. 

According to the Bureau of Labor and Statistics, the healthcare field continues to represent the fastest growing segment of our nation's economy. The American Medical Certification Association recognized the need for certifying these individuals by offering certification exams to the allied healthcare field. The American Medical Certification Association is nationally approved and recognized as a certification organization in all 50 states

Increasing numbers of trained, career-oriented professionals enter this promising field each year, sharing common goals, interests and needs. To help these healthcare professionals meet their goals, AMCA offers a certification exams to increase a candidate’s marketability and enhance their career portfolio.


On October 8, 2015, the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) granted American Medical Certification Association (AMCA) accreditation to the Clinical Medical Assistant Certification (CMAC) for demonstrating compliance with the NCCA Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs. NCCA is the accrediting body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence. The NCCA Standards were created in 1977 and updated in 2003 to ensure certification programs adhere to modern standards of practice for the certification industry.  AMCA joins an elite group of more than 120 organizations representing over 270 programs that have received and maintained NCCA accreditation. More information on the NCCA is available online at or by calling 202/367-1165.

What is Certification?
Certification or the word certify as defined by Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (2000) means, to attest as being true or as represented as meeting a standard. It is through a set of standards that the American Medical Certification Association has developed each of its exams. Each exam is developed by a team of Subject Matter Experts who have years of experience in their chosen field. The exams are designed to meet standards that will certify each successful exam candidate has proven that they are knowledgeable in their specific subject matter. The exams are based on 5 subject areas: Medical Terminology, Medical Law and Ethics, OSHA and Infection Control, Anatomy and Physiology and the subject matter related to that specific area i.e., phlebotomy, EKG, mental health, ETC...

Click below to download a 15 page Printable PDF version of
General Information and Exam Certification details.

website security
press releases Home Register Now Policies